Fleetwood Mac


Hello everyone! My name is Trish Kohut and I am a lover of all things music. One of my favorite things about music is when you find an album where every song is an amazing piece of a great collection. In this series, I discuss my favorite albums, track-by-track, and why you should check them out. This week’s album is a rock’n’ roll classic: Fleetwood Mac’s “Rumours 

  1. “Second Hand News” 

The album starts off with a fun number written by guitarist and singer Lindsey Buckingham. The song is fairly short, with only a two minutes and 56 seconds runtime. This track is one of the many on the album that discusses the romantic breakup of Buckingham and other bandmate Stevie Nicks. With its’ Scottish and Irish folk song influences, it is a great lead-off for what is to come. 

  1. “Dreams” 

In my opinion, this is one of the best Fleetwood Mac songs. This song showcases Stevie Nicks at her best. Her vocals on this track are second to none, with a soothing drum beat and relaxing tone. The track also has beautiful harmonies in the chorus, as well as very thought provoking lyrics. This song reached number one on the charts in the United States, and it is not hard to see why.  

  1. “Never Going Back Again” 

By Buckingham, this was one of the last songs to be written for the album. It is another song that was inspired by the aftermath of his breakup with Nicks. Buckingham plays an acoustic guitar for this number, which gives it a home feel. It is a simple song, with not a lot of flare, but it is still a good addition to the album.  

  1. “Don’t Stop” 

One of the band’s more well-known songs, “Don’t Stop” was written by vocalist and keyboard player Christine McVie. She wrote the track based on her feelings after separating from her husband John McVie, who was also the bassist of the group. With a beautiful keyboard progression, this song is the perfect motivation to keep going, even when times get tough. 

  1. “Go Your Own Way” 

“Go Your Own Way” is most likely the best known song by Fleetwood Mac. This song was written by Buckingham, and he is back to his wonderful electric guitar chord progressions. You can hear the anguish in Buckingham’s voice in this track about separating yourself from a toxic relationship. With a great drum beat, it is no wonder this song was a hit for the group. 

  1. “Songbird” 

Another acoustic spot for Buckingham, this track was written by Christine McVie. The band took a concert-style approach, with the original recording of the song taking place in an auditorium. McVie’s vocals are soothing in this number and adds a nice touch to the album. 

  1. “The Chain” 

 “The Chain” is one of the Fleetwood Mac’s more unique tracks, and it is the only song on the album that credits all five members of the group for writing it. The number was a mixture of multiple previously rejected tracks, which required the tape to be spliced and put together by hand. With many tempo changes and a foot-tapping drum line, this is one of the album’s standouts. 

  1. “You Make Loving Fun” 

One of my personal favorites, “You Make Loving Fun” was written and sung by Christine McVie. She wrote the song about an affair she had with the band’s lighting director, but told her then-husband at the time it was about her dog. With an upbeat nature and a soothing guitar progression, this is a song you cannot help but sing along to.  

  1. “I Don’t Want To Know” 

Written by Nicks, this song was thought up long before the “Rumours sessions. The harmonies between her and Buckingham are top-notch on this track, as well as having an upbeat tempo. “I Don’t Want To Know” also has a country-flair and very telling lyrics. All-in-all, it is a great little nugget on the album.  

  1. “Oh Daddy” 

Another track written by Christine McVie, “Oh Daddy” was inspired by drummer Mick Fleetwood, who was the only father in the group. With a tricky tempo, this song also features beautiful vocals by McVie. This song made many appearances throughout Fleetwood Mac’s tours and is considered a gem by many. 

  1. “Gold Dust Woman” 

The closing track on the album was written and sung by Nicks and features many unique instruments in the final recording, such as the electric harpsichord. Nicks’ vocals are very strong in this track, and the drumbeat by Fleetwood is also infectious. It is a strong ending to a fantastic album. 

That’s all for this week’s edition of Eclectic Albums. Tune in next week for our next album review! Also, if there are any albums you would like me to review, don’t hesitate to let me know! Keep rocking, Raiders! 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.